Celebrate

Hellooo!

Happy New Year!

Yes, I’ve been a little silent on my blog all December.  The rush of the holidays finally came creeping upon me and I had to get everything ready for Christmas and our trip to visit our families in New York.  Quite honestly, this holiday season felt quite overwhelming and I was more in a rush than ever.

So let’s “celebrate” with my first posting and first card of the year.

I have found that I really enjoy participating in the card challenges offered by many of my fellow bloggers.  For this card, I decided to play along with Case Study Challenge #122.

Windy Robinson was December’s Muse and this quite elegant and simple card is the last she is sharing for the challenge:

Here is my interpretation:

SUPPLIES Stamps: (All Penny Black) Sundial; Sweet Wishes; Warm Wishes; All is Bright Inks:  Malted Milk Jenni Bowlin Ink (Ranger); Black (Hero Arts); London Fog Memento Ink (Tsukineko) Other:  Prismacolor Pencil; Black Microbeads (Michaels)

SUPPLIES Stamps: (All Penny Black) Sundial; Sweet Wishes; Warm Wishes; All is Bright  Inks: Malted Milk Jenni Bowlin Ink (Ranger); Black (Hero Arts); London Fog Memento Ink (Tsukineko)  Other: Prismacolor Pencil; Black Microbeads (Michaels); Corner Punch (StampinUp)

I used different aspects of her card:  the colors purple and gray, the flourish and the main card panel.  I don’t often use the color purple to color my images so I was quite up to the challenge.  I decided to use one of my neglected floral stamps as the main focal image. This was colored with Prismacolor pencils.  To add more depth to the flower, I added black microbeads to the center.  Once dried, the flower was adhered to card panel with dimensional stickers.   To finish it off, I stamped the card panel with a graph-like background stamp and a flourish stamp.  The panel was also layered with gray cardstock which was then adhered to the card base. And that’s it!

I hope your New Year is off to a good start!

2 thoughts on “Celebrate

Leave a Reply

