Celebrate Today

Hello!

I hope you all have been finding inspiration from what the DT has been showcasing in the Penny Black blog.

Today’s challenge is to reinterpret a winter themed card into a spring card.

I decided to use this card I made back in November:

SUPPLIES Stamps: (all Penny Black) A Cool Christmas; Joy to the World; Let it Snow Inks: (all Ranger Ink) Distress Inks; Archival Ink (Jet Black) Other: Poly Sparkle Embossing Powder (Ranger); Swan Flock Powder (Martha Stewart); Gems (Michaels); Glossy Accents (Ranger); Rock Candy Stickles (Ranger); Prismacolor Pencils

SUPPLIES Stamps: (all Penny Black) A Cool Christmas; Joy to the World; Let it Snow Inks: (all Ranger Ink) Distress Inks; Archival Ink (Jet Black) Other: Poly Sparkle Embossing Powder (Ranger); Swan Flock Powder (Martha Stewart); Gems (Michaels); Glossy Accents (Ranger); Rock Candy Stickles (Ranger); Prismacolor Pencils

I knew I wanted to use this beautiful background stamp.  I first colored it and then tried to figure out what image I would be using from the Spring release and the color scheme.  I was kinda at a loss and decided to use this picture to help me choose my colors:

bright bloom

Here is my Spring card with this color interpretation:

SUPPLIES  Stamps: (All Penny Black) Garden Critters; Sweetness; To You Coloring: Watercolor Pencils (Derwent); Prismacolor Pencils; Black Dye Ink (Hero Arts) Other: Versamark (Tsukineko); Clear Embossing Powder (Ranger); Embossing Folder (Provocraft); Gems (Michaels)

SUPPLIES Stamps: (All Penny Black) Garden Critters; Sweetness; To You Coloring: Watercolor Pencils (Derwent); Prismacolor Pencils; Black Dye Ink (Hero Arts) Other: Versamark (Tsukineko); Clear Embossing Powder (Ranger); Embossing Folder (Provocraft); Gems (Michaels)

I used watercolor paper for the background stamp.  The image was clear embossed and colored with watercolor pencils.  I wanted an image to complement the background with an image from Garden Critters and what better than the cute little mouse shoveling the flower bed!  This image was colored with Prismacolor pencils, then fussy cut and finally adhered with dimensional foam.  Finally I added the sentiment from the clear set, To You (30-067) and added  a few gems.

Thanks for looking!

 

One thought on “Celebrate Today

Leave a Reply

