Mother’s Day Cards

Hello!

May is such a very crazy month with the school year and little league baseball season ending that it’s so hard to find time to do everything else.  I found some time before bed last night to make these Mother’s Day cards for my mother and mother-in-law.

I took the pictures this morning so forgive me that they are not the best quality (i.e. lighting).  I had to quickly take the pictures and then mail the cards out today.

The first card is for my Mom.

SUPPLIES Stamps: (All Penny Black) Flower Gallery (30-031); So Blessed (40-132) Inks:  Black Die Ink (HeroArts); Prismacolor Pencils  Other:  Patterned Paper (My Minds Eye); Pearls (Martha Stewart)

SUPPLIES Stamps: (All Penny Black) Flower Gallery (30-031); So Blessed (40-132) Inks: Black Die Ink (Hero Arts); Prismacolor Pencils Other: Patterned Paper (My Minds Eye); Pearls (Martha Stewart)

I was inspired by this card from Maile Belles, the May muse for Case Study Challenge.   I wanted to enter it into the challenge but I just didn’t have enough time to complete and submit.  I thought this pair of flowers from the Penny Black clear set, Flower Gallery (30-031) would be perfect.   I stamped the flower on the corner and trimmed the bottom and right sides of the card panel to meet the edges of the flowers which were fussy cut.  The flowers were colored with Prismacolor pencils.  I added the patterned paper from My Minds Eye on the card base and then adhered the card panel with dimensional foam.

The sentiment is from the cling set, So Blessed (40-132).  It was getting late and I actually made a mistake stamping the sentiment.  Just frustrating.  But no worries!  I re-stamped the sentiment on a small card strip and glued it over my mistake.  And to add more detail, I added a few pearls for embellishments.

The second card is for my Mother-in-Law.

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) So Blessed (40-132)  Eloquence (30-162)  Inks:  Black Dye Ink (Hero Arts); Soft Pool Shadow Ink (Hero Arts); Soft Granite Shadow Ink (Hero Arts); Charcoal Mid-Tone (Hero Arts); Aquamarine Archival Ink (Ranger) Other:  Patterned Paper (My Minds Eye); Wood Veneer Butterflies (Studio Calico); Twine

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) So Blessed (40-132) Eloquence (30-162) Inks: Black Dye Ink (Hero Arts); Soft Pool Shadow Ink (Hero Arts); Soft Granite Shadow Ink (Hero Arts); Charcoal Mid-Tone (Hero Arts); Aquamarine Archival Ink (Ranger) Other: Patterned Paper (My Minds Eye); Wood Veneer Butterflies (Studio Calico); Twine

I had some extra patterned paper from my first card that I wanted to use it for my second card.  Why waste?  It’s such a lovely pattern – the woodgrain and the doilies.  I was getting tired and I wanted to keep it very simple.  I decided to use the small flowers included in the clear set Eloquence (30-162) and made my own pattern on the card base.  I randomly stamped two sizes of the flowers with a light gray and aqua ink.  I first stamped the images on scrap paper and used the secondary image from the stamp.  I added a few wood veneer butterflies to the card to tie the papers together. I also stamped the same flower images on the two butterflies.  Finally, I added twine and a sentiment from the cling set, So Blessed (40-132).

Take care and thanks for looking!

One thought on “Mother’s Day Cards

  1. This card so totally caught my eye, love your stamped background and the highlight stamping on the butterflies is genius. I really must try this, consider it pinned!

Leave a Reply

