Thank You

Have you heard???!!!!

Penny Black stamps are being showcased today in the Stamp of Approval feature at the Moxie Fab blog.  Check it here and here!  The stamps that were selected were from the most recent releases:  Embellishments (30-161); Natures Wishes (30-109); Roman Surround (40-201), Sweet Home (30-170) and Tree-mendous (30-165). 

I am slowly making thank you cards for my children’s teachers.  Today I am featuring one of these cards using Roman Surround.

SUPPLIES  Stamps (all Penny Black) Letter Background (1999L); Roman Surround (40-201); Hot Rod! (40-224) Inks:  Distress Ink (Tim Holtz/Ranger); Black Dye Ink (Hero Arts) Dies:  Beautiful Butterflies (PTI); Fabulous Frames (PTI); Other; Natural Twine; Dimensional Foam (Scotch)

SUPPLIES Stamps (all Penny Black) Letter Background (1999L); Roman Surround (40-201); Hot Rod! (40-224) Inks: Distress Ink (Tim Holtz/Ranger); Black Dye Ink (Hero Arts); Perfect Pearl Mist (Ranger); Mr. Huey’s Silver Color Mist (Studio Calico)   Dies: Beautiful Butterflies (PTI); Fabulous Frames (PTI); Other; Natural Twine; Dimensional Foam (Scotch); Versamark Ink (Tsukineko); Zing Clear Embossing Powder (American Crafts), corner rounder (WeRMemory Keepers)

I thought I’d use this background stamp a little differently rather than creating a traditional background.  On a separate sheet of cardstock, I clear embossed the image.  I then colored it with various blue Distress Inks.  Once colored, I used a 1″ paper punch and carefully punched all the circles from the image.  I set the circles aside and worked on the other components of the card.

The next step was to die cut the polaroid frame from PTI’s Fabulous Frame set.  I only wanted to use the square portion.  I trimmed the bottom by .25″ to match the rest of the frame and rounded the corners (1/8″).  The frame was colored with Faded Jeans Distress Ink.  I heavily sprayed the frame with Perfect Pearls mist,  but I didn’t think it was “sparkly” enough.  I decided to spray it again with Mr. Huey’s Silver Color Mist.

I cut a card panel to match the size of my frame.  I stamped Letter Background (1999L) with Sepia Archival Ink and then distressed the panel with Antique Linen Distress Ink.  I adhered the panel to the cardbase on a angle.  I then glued 9 of the punched circles on the panels and carefully aligned it with the frame.  The frame was mounted with dimensional foam.

Lastly, I die cut a butterfly and stamped and colored it the same way as I did the card panel.  I adhered it to the frame and added twine for antennas. The “thank you” sentiment from Hot Rod! was added to finish it off.

Thanks for looking.  Please visit the Penny Black blog to see the rest of the DT’s fabulous creations with these highlighted stamps!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Thank You

Leave a Reply

