LaVon … You’ve Been Spotted!

spotted blog graphic

Hello!

I hope you’ve been enjoying this week’s feature on the Penny Black blog where cards are being spotted from the Penny Circle Flickr gallery.  Not only is the blog featuring these lovely creations,  the DT also get to spot a card or two from these wonderful artists.

Today, I am spotting LaVon Hall.

And here is her ATC that I JUST Love!

Live Fully! ATC for May Challenge

I love when stamps are used to create a collage.  The details are so appropriate and I love how the paper pieced flowers pop off the card.

I thought I’d take this inspiration and make my own card based on this design.  I don’t often do collage style cards so this was actually a little challenging for me.  Here is my take:

SUPPLIES Stamps:  (all Penny Black)  Letter Background (1999L); Life's Messages (40-237); Blooming Garden (30-155) Charms (30-173) Inkds:  Distress Ink (Tim Holtz Ranger) Sepia Archival Ink (Ranger); Soft Sand Shadow Ink (Hero Arts); Soft Olive Shadow Ink (Hero Arts) Other Distress Tool (Stampin Up); Twine (Martha Stewart)

SUPPLIES Stamps: (all Penny Black) Letter Background (1999L); Life’s Messages (40-237); Blooming Garden (30-155) Charms (30-173) Inks: Distress Ink (Tim Holtz Ranger) Sepia Archival Ink (Ranger); Soft Sand Shadow Ink (Hero Arts); Soft Olive Shadow Ink (Hero Arts); Prismacolor Pencils Other Distress Tool (Stampin Up); Twine (Martha Stewart); Glossy Accents (Ranger)

On the card panel, I stamped Letter Background with a light brown ink.  I partially stamped most of a sentiment from Life’s Messages off to the right.  I wanted the image to be offset but still understandable to the reader.  The image was second generation stamped with Sepia Archival Ink.  I then took two circular images from the clear set Charms and stamped it the same way as the sentiment.  I realized that the images blended too well with the rest of the other images that I re-stamped it again with green ink.  I then stamped the tulips from the clear set Blooming Garden twice, to the left and on an angle.  These  were also second generation imagexs  I colored the tulips with Prismacolor Pencils and then added Glossy Accents on the flowers.  Once the panel was dry, I added Antique Linen and Old Paper Distress Inks around the perimeter of the panel.  

Thank you so much LaVon for inspiring me!  You’ll be getting a special jpeg to display on your Flickr photostream. Check out more of her beautiful creations here.  And for more further inspiration, there are a bevy of wonderful cards on the Penny Black Flickr gallery as well as the Penny Black blog to get your creative juices going!

Have a wonderful Memorial Day Weekend!

 

3 thoughts on “LaVon … You’ve Been Spotted!

  1. Oh wow! Thank you so much for spotting me and giving the mention on the Penny Black blog. Can you tell that I am a huge PB fan? The card you did is just beautiful and I am honored that you used my ATC as inspiration. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

