Father’s Day Card

It’s Father’s day this Sunday.  I try to make cards from both my kids and myself.  I had already made one from my kids (here) a while my back.  I just wanted to share the card from me.

I so love the clear set, Sunny Days (30-180) from Penny Black’s last mini release, New Edition.  There are so many cute images to be used.  My husband has taken to sailing again.  He sailed as a teenager and dreamed of doing it again with the kids and finally this year it’s happening!  So, to commemorate this event, I thought I’d use the very cute cat on the sailboat.

SUPPLIES  Stamps:  Sunny Days (30-180); Pointille (3860J); Come Sail Away (SSS Kelly Purkey) Dies:  Std. Circles Small (Spellbinders); Banner Trio (WPlus9); Inks: Onyx Black Versafine (Tsukineko); Prismacolor Pencils: Markers (StampinUp); Distress Stains (Tim Holtz/Ranger); Distress Ink (Tim Holtz/Ranger); Chipped Sapphire Distress Paint (Tim Holtz/Ranger); Wink of Stella Glitter Brush (Zig)  Other:  Gems (Michaels); Foam Tape (3M)

SUPPLIES Stamps: Sunny Days (30-180); Pointille (3860J); Come Sail Away (SSS Kelly Purkey) Dies: Std. Circles Small (Spellbinders); Banner Trio (WPlus9); Inks: Onyx Black Versafine (Tsukineko); Prismacolor Pencils; Black Multiliner Pen (Copic);  Markers (StampinUp); Distress Stains (Tim Holtz/Ranger); Distress Ink (Tim Holtz/Ranger); Chipped Sapphire Distress Paint (Tim Holtz/Ranger); Wink of Stella Glitter Brush (Zig) Other: Gems (Michaels); Foam Tape (3M)

I used a lot of techniques for this card.  I first stamped the sailing image on white CS.  It was colored with Prismacolor pencils and then fussy cut.  I drew two stripes with a black pen on the main sail and colored them two shades of blue. I also brushed them as well as the top sail with a new glitter pen I just purchased and now love (recommended by Jennifer McGuire).  A  craft knife was used to cut the empty spaces (not as difficult as I thought it would be).

I set the image aside and worked on the background.  Using the bumpy side of watercolor paper, I cut a circle using the largest die from the Spellbinders Standard Small Circles Set.  I then used various yellow and orange Distress Inks and Distress Stains to create the water color background.

While the background dried, I created the waves.  On a small piece of white CS, I rubbed various medium and dark blue Distress Inks (Salty Ocean, Broken China, and Faded Jeans).  Once that was completed, I inked up and lightly sprayed water on  Pointille (3860J) with Chipped Sapphire Distress Paint.  This was done several times to cover the whole panel.  Once dried, I hand-cut several waves.  I brushed the edges with my glitter brush just to add more sparkle.

Finally, I worked on the assembly of the card.  On a card panel cut slightly smaller than the card base, I cut a large circle and set aside.   I adhered the sailing image on to my background circle.  I then added the waves slightly overlapping each other.  Once assembled, I adhered it directly on to the card base.  I then added dimensional foam on the  panel with the negative die cut and placed the circle over my background/sailing images.  To finish it off, I stamped a sentiment from Kelly Purkey’s awesome nautical clear set, Come Sail Away on a die cut banner.  This was also adhered with foam tape and just a few gems to set the sentiment off.

Hope you all have a great weekend!

And don’t forget to check out the Penny Black blog as they have been announcing the gals from the new stamp squad.  We’re on Day 4!

stamp squad announcement

And, have you seen this sneak peak??!!!  I, myself, am SO SO excited!  More details to follow in the next few weeks.

die ing

4 thoughts on “Father’s Day Card

Leave a Reply

