Thinking of You

Hello and Happy Father’s Day!

Hope everyone is enjoying the weekend.

I thought I’d play along with this week’s Moxie Fab’s Tuesday Trigger: Vintage Vagabond.

I thought it was a unusual color scheme in the sense that they are not my immediate go-to colors.  And I thought it was a chance to use stamps that were in need of some inking.  Here is my take:

SUPPLIES  Stamps (All Penny Black)  Diamond Pattern (40-169); Sweet Melody (40-195); Sentimental (30-176); Flower Festival (30-095)  Inks:  Versamark Black Onyx (Tsukineko); Watermelon Pigment Archival Ink (Ranger); Black Dye Ink (Hero Arts); Distress Inks (Tim Holtz/Ranger); Delicata Pingment Ink (Tsukineko); Perfect Pearls Heirloom Gold Mist Other:  Gesso (Golden); Sequins, Black Floss; Corner Rounder (WeRMemory Keepers)

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) Allover Patter (40-109); Sweet Melody (40-195); Sentimental (30-176); Flower Festival (30-095) Inks: Versamark Black Onyx (Tsukineko); Watermelon Pigment Adirondack Ink (Ranger); Black Dye Ink (Hero Arts); Distress Inks (Tim Holtz/Ranger); Delicata Pingment Ink (Tsukineko);  Other: Gesso (Golden); Clear Embossing Powder (American Crafts); Sequins, Black Floss; Corner Rounder (WeRMemory Keepers); Tim Holtz Sanding Grip (Ranger)

I’ve wanted to try to add gesso into my array of stamping techniques.  I’ve been admiring the works of my fellow DT gals – Elizabeth, Alexandra & Jill – so I HAD to try!  On a white card panel, I stamped & embossed the background stamp Allover Pattern.  I then painted gesso over the panel.  Once dried, I added various yellow shades of Distress Ink (Antique Linen, Scattered Straw & Old Paper).  I thought the embossed image was too muted so I used sand paper to remove some of the gesso off the image.  Finally, I brushed Delicata gold ink and Black Soot Distress ink on the edges.

On a small piece of white CS, I stamped a dragonfly image from the clear set, Flower Festival.  I then stamped & embossed, over the dragonfly, the cage image from the cling set, Sweet Melody, using Adirondack Watermelon pigment ink.  The image was then fussy cut.

I adhered the cage with dimensional foam on the gesso’d background card panel. I added black floss and a few sequins as well.  The card panel was adhered on kraft CS with additional sequins and a sentiment from the clear set, Sentimental.  Finally, I added more Delicata gold ink on the edges of the card base.

Thanks for looking and have a great week!

5 thoughts on “Thinking of You

  1. Hey Therese! Thanks for linking this up to this week’s Tuesday Trigger in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

