Happy Birthday

Yesterday was my dear friend’s birthday.

So, of course, I had to make a card to celebrate this special day.  She’s a sparkly kind of gal so I thought I’d make something appropriate.

untitled shoot-1050-3

untitled shoot-1050-2

untitled shoot-1051

SUPPLIES Stamps Reflection (40-218); Envelope Pattern (Hero Arts) Die  Labels Eight (Spellbinders) Inks Prismacolor Pencils; Jenni Bowlin Malted Milk (Ranger) Old Paper Distress Ink (Ranger); Black Dye Ink (Hero Arts) Other Essential Glue Pad (Tsukinkeo); Clear RockCandy Distress Stickles Dry Glitter (Ranger); Sequins

I’ve been wanting to ink up the lovely cling set Reflection (40-218) for quite some time.  And celebrating my friend’s birthday was the perfect reason.  To add some sparkle, I paper pieced the dress altered with a hint of glitter.

I stamped the image on white cardstock.  With a blue Prismacolor pencil, I heavily colored the top part of her dress.  With a blending stub dipped in Gamsol, I dragged/blended the color to completelly cover the dress.  I repeated this technique until I was satisfied with the results.  I then went back with a darker blue pencil and added color to the curvier outline of her dress to add some shadow. I then blended the two blue colors.  With a white pencil, I further lightened the bottom part of the dress.

Once I was satisfied, I carefully cut the dress along its outline.  I then completely covered the dress with adhesive using the Essential Glue Pad and added a clear glitter.  I slowly rubbed the glitter to ensure that the dress was completely covered.  I then set it aside.

On the card base, I partially stamped the background and distressed edges of the card.  I stamped the image again and colored her torso, hair and flowers with Prismacolor pencils. The glittery dress was paper pieced back onto the stamped image.  I then added the sentiment.  I still felt the card a little bare so I added a few clear and shiny white sequins.

I am entering this card into the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge:  Anything Goes.

Hope you all have a Happy Thanksgiving!  We’re having friends and family to help us celebrate.  Fried turkey is on the menu with a few changes that I like making every year. This year I am adding sweet potato biscuits to the menu and hopefully adding a ice cream bread pudding to our choice of desserts 🙂

One thought on “Happy Birthday

Leave a Reply

