Celebrate the Season

It’s December!

So, let’s start the month off with another Christmas/Holiday I have made.

untitled shoot-1109

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) Build a Snow Man (30-200); Let It Snow (30-086); Hello Winter (30-141) Dies A2 Card Curved Edge (SSS) Inks Tumbled Glass & Iced Spruce Distress Inks (Ranger); White Dye Ink (HeroArts); Unicorn Pigment Ink (Memories/Hero Arts); BlackOnyx Versafine ink (Tsukineko); Copic Markers; Other Black Enamel Accents (Ranger) Clear Embossing Powder (Ranger); White Embossing Powder (American Crafts) Crystal Stickles (Ranger)

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) Build a Snow Man (30-200); Let It Snow (30-086); Hello Winter (30-141) Dies A2 Card Curved Edge (SSS) Inks Tumbled Glass & Iced Spruce Distress Inks (Ranger); White Dye Ink (HeroArts); Unicorn Pigment Ink (Memories/Hero Arts); BlackOnyx Versafine ink (Tsukineko); Copic Markers; Other Black Enamel Accents (Ranger) Clear Embossing Powder (Ranger); White Embossing Powder (American Crafts) Crystal Stickles (Ranger)

I thought I’d make a cute and whimsical card this time.  I picked up some specialty papers from Michaels and thought I’d try them on a card.  I love the glitter paper that they sell.  It has that glimmery finish but very smooth to the touch.

I first created the background.  On a CS panel, I colored the paper with Iced Spruce and Tumbled Glass Distress Ink.  I love this color combination.  It reminds me of a snowy background with an overcast sky.  I stamped various snowflakes (from Let it Snow and Hello Winter) with White Dye Ink.  It’s hard to tell in the pictures above but on different angles, you can see the flakes.  This is the first time I’ve used this ink and I love how it just gives a hint of white.  To me, it gives a further effect of a snowy day.  I set the panel aside and worked on the rest of the card.

For this card, I  played with Penny Black’s Build a Snow Man (30-200) clear set.  It’s got all the cute components to make a snowman or two.  I stamped and heat embossed the large snowman.  I then fussy cut the image.  I then chosed the top hat, the long carrot nose and the bowtie for the snowman.  All were colored with Copics.  I added Crystal Stickles to the bowtie.

I assembled the card.  I cut the glitter paper to create the snow enbankment.  I usually will hand cut but I thought I’d try to use the Simon Says Stamp Curved Edge Die.  I added the snow to the panel and then added my snowman.  The arms were stamped and heat embossed directly on the panel.  The sentiment is from the clear set Let it Snow (30-086) which was stamped with white pigment ink and then heat embossed.

I’m also entering this card to the last Festive Friday Challenge of the year.  The challenge is to pick your favorite challenge that was offered this year.  This time, I am choosing a theme challenge: Create a Holiday Project with a Whimsical Theme.

In addition, I am entering this in the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge:  Countdown to the Holidays.

Psst…  I’ve got a few projects to share exclusively for Penny Black club members in the next weeks.  Join the club here by December 15, 11:59 PST and you, as a member, will be able to view these projects as well as receive a newsletter and any future card and scrapbooking ideas.

announcement

 

3 thoughts on “Celebrate the Season

  1. The look on his face makes me smile! This is so very sweet and perfect for ‘whimsical’! Thanks so much for joining us at Festive Friday! Looking forward to seeing you in 2014!

Leave a Reply

