A little Bokeh

Hello!

Hope you’re enjoying your week so far.  Cards are almost done to send out.  Christmas tree is up and the kids helped with the decorating.  I have gifts to wrap and need to come up with ideas for teachers’ gifts.  I have so many teachers to give out gifts this year that I think I’m just going to bake or make something food related.

I am continuing with my share of Christmas cards.

untitled shoot-1503

SUPPLIES Stamps Fairy Wishes (Penny Black 4358J); Strictly Sentiments 3 (WP9); Circles (HA) Inks Tumbled Glass Distress ink (Ranger); Cornflower, Mint Julep, Soft Pool (Hero Arts); Aquamarine Archival Ink (Ranger); Prismacolor Pencils Other Tiny Alpha Stickers (Making Memories); Wink of Stella Clear (Zig); Stardust Stickles (Ranger)

SUPPLIES Stamps Fairy Wishes (Penny Black 4358J); Strictly Sentiments 3 (WP9); Circles (HA) Inks Tumbled Glass Distress ink (Ranger); Cornflower, Mint Julep, Soft Pool (Hero Arts); Aquamarine Archival Ink (Ranger); Prismacolor Pencils Other Tiny Alpha Stickers (Making Memories); Wink of Stella Clear (Zig); Stardust Stickles (Ranger)

I have been really loving all the bokeh inspiration that I’ve seen in blogland.  It’s just a subtle and pretty background and, of course, I wanted to try.  This is my first attempt.  I wanted the overlapped circles to be more prominent but it didn’t really come out the way I pictured in my head.  In any case, I was rather pleased, being it is my first try.

I first covered my card base with a homemade circle stencil, ensuring that the stencil was centered on the base.  Using small solid circular stamps, I sporadically stamped dark circles of blue within the circle.  I then shaded the entire circle with Tumbled Glass Ditress Ink.  I then tried to stamp with water using the same circular stamps to get that faded effect.  Well, that didn’t really work out.  So, I stamped second generation circles slightly overlapping the other circles.

I set that aside and worked on coloring Penny Black’s Fairy Wishes (4358J).  The image was colored with Prismacolor Pencils and then fussy cut. I brushed Wink of Stella over the wings and then added Stardust Stickles to the want.  I centered this cute little fairy over my bokeh background.  I used stickers to create the sentiment.

Challenges entered:

Simon Says Stamp… Make Your Own Background

Papercrafts December, 2013 Gallery Challenge

Hope you get a chance this week to visity the Penny Black blog.  All this week you’ll see all the watercolor and shading artistry by Heather Telford.  Take a look at her beautiful work!

banner

And don’t forget!  Be a Penny Black club member to see exclusive projects and card ideas.  My projects will be shared with all members very soon.  Join the club here by December 15, 11:59 PST and you, as a member, will be able to view these projects as well as receive a newsletter and any future card and scrapbooking ideas.

announcement

You can now follow me on Bloglovin.

One thought on “A little Bokeh

  1. Very pretty card, what a lovely image you have used and I love your circle background

    Thank you for joining us at Simon Says Wednesday Challenge.

    Jo x

Leave a Reply

