Penny Black Plays Along: Through the Purple Haze Challenge Day 1

All this week Penny Black will be playing along with the Through the Purple Haze Challenge Blog.  This challenge blog is relatively new- just started June of this year.  Anita Blake, the coordinator, welcomes anyone – beginner and established to take the challenge.  You need to start somewhere!

So here are my cards I am contributing – one elegant and and one cute.

untitled shoot-8521-2

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) Decadence (40-254); Christmas Cheer (30-140) Inks: Delicata Pigment Ink (Tsukineko); Distress Inks (Ranger); Black Dye Ink (HeroArts); Copic Markers Dies Die Label Ornately (Sizzix) Other Versamark (Tsukineko); Clear Embossing Powder (Ranger); Ribbon; Sequins

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) Decadence (40-254); Christmas Cheer (30-140) Inks: Delicata Pigment Ink (Tsukineko); Distress Inks (Ranger); Black Dye Ink (HeroArts); Copic Markers Dies Die Label Ornately (Sizzix) Other Versamark (Tsukineko); Clear Embossing Powder (Ranger); Ribbon; Sequins

I’m not very comfortable with very fancy backgrounds – never know how to incorporate it in a card.  But I thought that this background – Decadence (40-254) – would look great embossed.  So, I stamped it with gold ink and heat embossed with clear powder.  I then colored the cardstock with various hues of green to create an ombre effect.  On a die cut label, I stamped a sentiment from Christmas Cheer (30-140).  To make it a more fancy, I also added the elegant flourish on the top of the bottom of the stamp.  I then swiped the edges of the label with Distress Ink.  Finally, I added ribbon to anchor the label and added a few sequins.  I couldn’t find a large sequin to match the color of the ribbon.  So, I took a large silver sequin and colored it with a Copic marker.

I thought I’d make a different card that was more on the cute side.

untitled shoot-8510

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) Winter Fun (30-189); Whoo's Wishing (30-190) Inks:  Prismacolor Pencils; Black Dye Ink (HeroArts) Other:  Wendy Vechhi Embossing Paste; Sequins; Glossy Accents (Ranger)

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) Winter Fun (30-189); Whoo’s Wishing (30-190) Inks: Prismacolor Pencils; Black Dye Ink (HeroArts) Other: Confetti Stencil (Heidi Swapp); Wendy Vechhi Embossing Paste; Sequins; Glossy Accents (Ranger); Corner Chomper (WeRMemoryKeepers)

For this card, I used the Santa image from the Mimi clear stamp set Winter Fun (30-189).  I colored this cute guy with Prismacolor Pencils.  I then added Glossy Accents on the ribbon as well as the holly berries.  I then fussy cut the image and set it aside.  On the center of the card base, I added texture by using embossing paste over a stencil.  I also added a few white, luminscent sequins.  Once the embossing paste was dried, I adhered the colored Santa image with foam adhesive.  I used a sentiment from the clear set Whooo’s Wishing (30-190) and stamped it on a self-made banner.  To finish, I rounded the top corner.

Now be sure to visit the Through the Purple Haze blog as well as the Penny Black blog for more inspiration all this week!

Challenges entered:

Both cards: Papercrafts December, 2013 Gallery Challenge

2 thoughts on “Penny Black Plays Along: Through the Purple Haze Challenge Day 1

  1. Both cards are so beautifully done Therese!
    I love the elegance of the first one and the darling look of the second!
    Thank You~

Leave a Reply

