Cutie Pie

Hi there!

Hope you all had an enjoyable weekend.

I have a card to share using one of the dies from the Penny Black Sending Hugs Valentines release.

untitled shoot-5061

SUPPLIES  Stamps Ooh La La (PB 30-210) Dies Heart Strings (PB 51-022); Square Framelits (Sizzix) Inks:  Versafine Black Onyx (Tsukineko) Other Arcrylic Paper (Strathmore); Patterned Paper (Basic Grey?); Glossy Accents (Ranger); Clear Embossing Powder (Ranger); Wink of Stella Glitter Clear Brush (Zig)

SUPPLIES Stamps Ooh La La (PB 30-210) Dies Heart Strings (PB 51-022); Square Framelits (Sizzix) Inks: Versafine Black Onyx (Tsukineko); Copic Markers  Other Arcrylic Paper (Strathmore); Patterned Paper (Basic Grey?); Glossy Accents (Ranger); Clear Embossing Powder (Ranger); Wink of Stella Glitter Clear Brush (Zig)

I wanted to make a card highlighting the die Heart String (51-022).  I love how different card artists use banners on their cards.  So I treated the die like a banner.  I cut 4 die cuts from white CS.  Using 2 matching sheets of  patterned paper I then cut 4 die cuts each.  I carefully cut the hearts from the patterned paper and glued them on to the 4 white CS die cuts.   I then had 2 sets of matching heart strings.   I set that aside.

I then created a frame.  I’ve been really loving the texted Arcrylic paper from Strathmore. I just love the subtle texture of the paper.  I used this paper to cut a rectangular to fit my card.  I then die cut a square to create a Polaroid frame.  Using one of each of the die cuts, I positioned them behind the frame and adhered it with tape.  I then trimmed the excess.

To create the background, I watercolored hues of pinks on white cardstock with the same measurement as my frame.  I then glued the last 2 remaining heart strings in the opposite direction of the die cuts on the frame.  I adhered the card panel to the card base.

I wanted the heart strings on the frame to appear floating.  I added 2 layers of foam tape – one on top of the other – to create height.  I then adhered that to the card panel.  To finish it off, I colored the heart from the clear set Ooh La La (30-210) with Copics.  The heart was  brushed with a glitter marker and then added Glossy Accents (a embellishment technique from Jennifer McGuire).  Finally I added a sentiment from the same clear set.

I am entering this card in CAS(E) this Sketch #61.  It’s been a long time!

Hope you all have a great week!

4 thoughts on “Cutie Pie

Leave a Reply

