Sympathy Card

Hi there!  I’m hoping your weekend is off to a good start.

I needed to make a sympathy card this week.  The husband of a close acquantaince suddenly passed away and I wanted to send my prayers and condolences to her.

20140212-DSC_6210 20140212-DSC_6226

SUPPLIES Stamps Promise Me (PB 4384K); Eloquence (PB 30-162); Words to the Rescue - Sympathy (Art Gone Wild); Joy for the Journey (Verve) Dies Square Die (Sizzix); Inks: Distress Pain - Mowed Law, Peeled Paint, Wild Honey, Barn Door (Ranger); Heidi Swapp Color Shine - Tinsel; Mr. Huey's Color Mists - Silver (Studio Calico); Blackboard Mid-Tone Ink (HA) Other: Arcrylic Paper (Strathmore), Distressing Tool (StampinUp)

SUPPLIES Stamps Promise Me (PB 4384K); Eloquence (PB 30-162); Words to the Rescue – Sympathy (Art Gone Wild); Joy for the Journey (Verve) Dies Square Die (Sizzix); Inks: Distress Pain – Mowed Law, Peeled Paint, Wild Honey, Barn Door (Ranger); Heidi Swapp Color Shine – Tinsel; Mr. Huey’s Color Mists – Silver (Studio Calico); Blackboard Mid-Tone Ink (HA) Other Bristol Paper (Strathmore); Arcrylic Paper (Strathmore), Distressing Tool (StampinUp)

I had bought Distress Paint when it first hit the shelves last year.  And they’ve been hiding in a drawer until now.  I’ve been playing with different mediums other than ink so I thought I’d finally give the paint a try.   I used the beautiful Promise Me (4384K) tulip stamp from the latest Penny Black release.

With a slightly wet brush, I painted directly onto the stamp.  I used 2 greens for the stems (Mowed Lawn; Peeled Paint) and Wild Honey for the base of the flower and Barn Door for the top.  I heavily sprayed the stamp with water and stamped the image onto Bristol paper card panel.  I set it aside to dry.

Using Arcrylic paper, I cut a square frame using the square Sizzix dies.  I really like the texture of Arcylic paper which has a linen canvas look to it.  I then sprayed heavily with silver ink spray and set it aside.  I love how it turned out giving it a little shine and highlighting the texture of the paper.

I then assembled the card.  I distressed the edges of the card panel and adhered it to the card base.  I then added the frame on an angle.  To finish the card, I added a sentiment from the Eloquence (30-162) clear set.

I also wanted to show the sentiment that I included in the card.  I thought it was appropriate in this time of sadness.

Take care!

 

 

 

One thought on “Sympathy Card

Leave a Reply

