Hello

Hi there!

All week Penny Black is collaborating with May Arts.  The DT will be showcasing projects using their beautiful ribbons.  I will be starting this collaboration with a card using their jute twine in Parrot Green.

20140302-DSC_6746

SUPPLIES Stamp (all Penny Black) Dahlia Dance (4380K) Dies (All Penny Black) Feather & Frames (51-039); Hello Frame (51-040); Natures Sog (51-014)  May Arts Ribbon Parrot Green Jute Twine (SM-46) Inks Martha Stewart Arcylic Paint (Pink Dahlia; Japanese Maple; Ballet Slipper); Fired Brick; Barn Door Distress Paint (Ranger); Prismacolor Pencils; Black Soot & Wcattered Straw Distress Ink (Ranger); Pure Sunshine Dylusions Ink Spray (Ranger); Prismacolor Pencils; Black Dye Ink (HA); Stencil: Dots (Heidi Swapp) Other Translucent Embossing Paste (Wendy Vecchi); Gesso (Golden); Dimensional Foam (3M)

SUPPLIES Stamp (all Penny Black) Dahlia Dance (4380K) Dies (All Penny Black) Feather & Frames (51-039); Hello Frame (51-040); Nature’s Song (51-014) May Arts Ribbon Parrot Green Jute Twine (SM-46) Inks Martha Stewart Arcylic Paint (Pink Dahlia; Japanese Maple; Ballet Slipper); Fired Brick; Barn Door Distress Paint (Ranger); Prismacolor Pencils; Black Soot & Wcattered Straw Distress Ink (Ranger); Pure Sunshine Dylusions Ink Spray (Ranger); Prismacolor Pencils; Black Dye Ink (HA); Stencil Dots (Heidi Swapp) Other Translucent Embossing Paste (Wendy Vecchi); Gesso (Golden); Dimensional Foam (3M)

I took the opportunity with this project to include several techinques that I’ve wanting to use.  I’m not very comfortable (or really have’t attempted much) adding several layers to a card.   I also wanted to play with embossing paste again.  I haven’t touched it since the summer and I wanted to create a subtle background using this technique.  And, since I’ve been into paints lately – arcrylic and Distress Paints – I wanted to add that touch as well.

I first worked on the components of my layers.  The flowers, Dahlia Dance (4380K), were stamped in black ink and colored with Prismacolor pencils.  I selected 2 of the flowers from the image and fussy cut.  The frame from Feather & Frames (51-039) was die cut several time to create thickness and dimension.   The top layer wash colored with Scattered Straw Distress Ink and sprayed with yellow die ink to add a little more vibrance.  I die cut Nature’s Song (51-014) from a card stock that I had painted with various hues of reds and picks.  And finally, the “hello” from Hello Frame (51-040) was cut several times.  The top layer was distressed with Black Soot Distress Ink.  I put all these components aside and worked on the rest of the card.

I wanted to keep the background of my card very simple.  I love all the the subtle backgrounds that you can create with a stencil and embossing paste.  I decided to use a simple background of dots and used translucent embossing paste over it.  I carefully taped my card panel as well as the stencil down before I started spreading the paste.  I just love the result!

Once the card panel was completed, I wrapped the Parrot Green jute twine several times around the length of the panel.  I adhered it to the back with regular scotch tape.   I mounted the panel on the card base with dimensional foam.  The components were then added to the card.  Once all the components were arranged, I added a small bow of jute twine to complete it.

Stay around for the rest of the week and visit the Penny Black blog for more inspiration.

ETA (2014-Mar-21) I am participating in the latest Moxic Fab World Challenge:  Styling With Stencils Challenge.

Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Hello

Leave a Reply

