Thinking of You

Hi there!

I thought I’d create another card to celebrate the collaboration between Penny Black products and May Arts Ribbon.  This time, I thought I’d create a more elegant looking card.

20140305-DSC_6753

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) Blooming Tags (30-228); Dahlias (30-159) Dies (All Penny Black) Hello Frame (51-040); Triple Banner (51-027) Inks Prismacolor Pencils; London Fog Memento Ink (Tsukineko); Black Dye Ink (HA); Pumice Stone Distress Ink (Ranger) Stencil Cheveron Stencil (Prima) Other Translucent Embossing Paste (Wendy Vecchi/Dreamweavers); Bisque Perfect Pearls (Ranger)

SUPPLIES Stamps (All Penny Black) Blooming Tags (30-228); Dahlias (30-159) Black May Arts Ribbon 3/8″ Satin with Knotted Edge (466-38-10) Dies (All Penny Black) Hello Frame (51-040); Triple Banner (51-027) Inks Prismacolor Pencils; London Fog Memento Ink (Tsukineko); Black Dye Ink (HA); Pumice Stone Distress Ink (Ranger) Stencil Chevron Stencil (Prima) Other Translucent Embossing Paste (Wendy Vecchi/Dreamweavers); Bisque Perfect Pearls (Ranger)

I first created the card panel.  Again, I wanted to try my hand on using translucent embossing paste as a subtle background.  This time, I used a chevron stencil by Prima.  It didn’t come out as cleanly as my previous card.  I think I hesitated pulling the stencil off all at once and, therefore, there is a little smudging of the paste.  Thankfully, it occurred on the edges which I trimmed off.  Once dried, I trimmed the panel to a smaller size and rounded the corners.

I then created my centepiece.  On a separate piece of cardstock, I stamped the hydrangea tag from Blooming Tags (30-228) with gray ink.  I then used the frame from the Hello Frame set (51-040) cutting the flower and background from the stamped tag.  I colored the image with Primsacolor Pencils and used a small amount of Bisque Perfect Pearls in the centers of each flower.  I also distressed the edges of the frame with Pumice Stone Distress Ink.

To finish the card, I added black cardstock against my card panel.  This was adhered to a card base.  I then added my flower frame to the center.  The sentiment is from Dahlias (30-159) which I added to one of the new banner dies from the Triple Banner set (51-027).  The banner was trimmed as I thought the original length was too long for my center image.  I created a small bow with the Knotted Edge Ribbon and adhered it to the top center of the card.

Hope you’ve been enjoying and finding inspiration from the rest of the Penny Black DT.

Until next time.

2 thoughts on “Thinking of You

Leave a Reply

