Backgrounds In Bloom

All this week, the Penny Black Design Team is showcasing the background stamps from the last release, Bloom.

Today, I thought I’d share a card using the die, Petals (51-042), as my background.  Instead of using it as a die, I thought I’d emboss it for my card.

untitled-2293

SUPPLIES Stamps Sunny Hello (30-230); Special Wishes (30-229) Dies Petals (51-042); Tags (51-007) Inks Koi Watercolors (Sakura); Inktense Watercolor Pencils (Derwent); Peach, Sweet Cheery Color Shine Ink Spray (Heidi Swapp); Heirloom Gold Liquid Perfect Pearls (Ranger) Other Versamark (Tsukineko); Zing White EP (AC); Sequins; Green Bakers Twine

SUPPLIES Stamps Sunny Hello (30-230); Special Wishes (30-229) Dies Petals (51-042); Tagged (51-007) Inks Koi Watercolors (Sakura); Inktense Watercolor Pencils (Derwent); Peach, Sweet Cheery Color Shine Ink Spray (Heidi Swapp); Heirloom Gold Liquid Perfect Pearls (Ranger) Other Versamark (Tsukineko); Zing White EP (AC); Embossing Pads (Spellbinders); Sequins; Green Bakers Twine, Bristol Paper (Strathmore)

Using a die to emboss is very simple.  These large dies are great to use for this technique. With my Big Shot, I made sure my multipurpose platform was on Tab 1.  I then laid my die over my cardstock as usual.  But I had a embossing pad under my paper as well as a embossing pad over the die.  I used my die cut machine as usual.  To add a change to a basic white background, I sprayed 2 shades or red dye ink as well as a gold spray.  Once colored, I fussy cut the image.

I also wanted to include one of the sunflower images from Sunny Hello (30-230).  They are just gorgeous and the one where the flower seems to be opening up to the sun is stunning. Love all the petals just going every which way.  I decided to emboss this image on Bristol paper with white EP and watercolor image.  I just bought the Koi watercolor palette and decided to use that.  For shadow, I usded my Inktense pencils.  I lifted the color off directly from the pencils.

I then assembled the card.  I decided to put the flower on a angle to reflect that it’s leaning towards the sun.  I added a bit of bakers twine and added a sentiment from Special Wishes (30-229) on one of the dies from Tagged (51-007).  Sequins were added to complete the card.

I’m sharing the day with Jill.  I hope you get to check out her stunning work as well!

 

 

Leave a Reply

