Chevron Birthday

Hello!

A few weeks ago, I made a “quick” birthday card for my nephew.  I really couldn’t put much thought into it because I had to mail it right away.

untitled-2525

SUPPLIES Stamps Chevron background (HA); Anything Can Happen (HA) Dies Birthday Trio (PTI) Inks Distress Paint (Ranger) Other Versamark (Tsukineko); Queens Gold EP (Ranger); Enamel Dots; Vellum Paper; Glossy Accents (Ranger); Wink of Stella (Zig)

SUPPLIES Stamps Chevron background (HA); Anything Can Happen (HA) Dies Birthday Trio (PTI) Inks Distress Paint (Ranger) Other Gesso (Golden); Versamark (Tsukineko); Queens Gold EP (Ranger); Enamel Dots; Vellum Paper; Glossy Accents (Ranger); Wink of Stella (Zig)

I tried to keep it simple and I wanted to use stamps and dies that are begging to be used.  I thought adding some paint would keep it technically interesting.  I first prepped a piece of Bristol paper with gesso.  I then added different hues of blue Distress Paint on the Hero Arts background stamp, Chevron.  I wanted an ombre look so I went from dark to light in the order of the paints.    Once colored, I heavily misted the stamp with water and then stamped the image on my paper.

While that dried, I die cut one of the dies from PTI’s Birthday Trio multiple times.  I glued them together to create a more 3 dimensional die cut.  The top layer was brushed with a Wink of Stella Pen and then covered with Glossy Accents.

I then assembled the card when all the items were dry.  On a strip of vellum, I embossed with gold EP the word “happy” from the HA Anything Can Happen clear set.  I added my die cut and finished the stamp with enamel dots.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

