Happy Birthday Mom

Greetings!

Displaying fff weekly banner.jpg

All week the Design Team wil be showcasing projects on the blog with a family and friendship theme.

I wanted a happy and bright card to give to my mother-in-law, so here it is:

untitled-6276

SUPPLIES  Stamps Garden Blooms (30-215); 30-229 (Birthday Wishes); 30-025 (Sentiments) Inks Distress Inks (Ranger); Black Dye Ink (HA) Other: Green Jute (May Arts)

SUPPLIES Stamps Garden Blooms (30-215); Birthday Wishes (30-229); Sentiments (30-025) Inks Distress Inks (Ranger); Black Dye Ink (HA) Other: Green Jute (May Arts); Bristol paper (Strathmore)

I’ve been inspired by the gals from latest Online Card Class – Watercolor for Cardmakers, that I thought I’d try my hand on one of the techniques they showcased.

I love Bristol paper.  It’s a great weight – somewhere between the thickness of Neenah cardstock and watercolor paper.  And if you plan on doing light watercoloring as on this card, I think it’s a perfect paper to use.  It will slightly buckle but you can put the paper under a few heavy books once dried to flatten it out.

On Bristol paper panel, I stamped the tulip image from Garden Blooms (30-215) with black ink.  I then pressed various shades of pink Distress Ink (Worn Lipstick, Spun Sugar and Picked Raspberry) on a large arcrylic block.  You can also just press the ink directly on a craft sheet.  With a wet brush, I colored the tulips.  I first primed the area I wanted to color with water and then proceeded to add color – from light to dark).  I did the same with the stems using various shades of green Distress Ink (Crushed Olive, Shabby Shutters and Mowed Lawn).

Once dried, I proceeded to color the background.  Again, I primed the areas I focused on to color with just water and then added color.  The Distress Inks that I used were Spun Sugar, Shaded Lilac and Tumbled Glass.  I let the panel dry and mounted it on a slightly larger card panel matching the color of the tulips.

I wrapped green jute string towards the bottom of the panel and added “mom” from the clear set Sentiments (30-025).  I then stamped the rest of my sentiment from Birthday Wishes (30-229) on my card base.  I then added the card panel above the sentiment to complete the card.

As you may know, Penny Black is offering a special promotion.  Be a Penny Black Fan on Facebook!  Once we reach 12,000 “likes”, one lucky winned will receive 12 stamps of their choosing!  Simply “like” their Facebook page and leave a comment on any Penny Black FB post.

Displaying giveaway.jpg

Hope you enjoy your week!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

