Thank You Notes

Hi!

I have a few thank you notes to share with you today.

The last few weeks of school are always hectic.  This year was no exception.  I actually thought I planned well ahead to purchase/create gifts for kids’ teachers and then to create teacher themed cards for them.  That, unfortunately, never came to frution.

I usually like to make a baked item for the teachers.  This year, I made sour cream pound cake and cream cheese pound cake for them.  I also baked 2 batches of honey buttermilk biscuits.  With the biscuits, I also gave the teachers either a jar of honey or a jar of jam in the gift bag.  Yes, a lot of baking.  But I wanted to ensure that all my children’s teachers (all 8) had a special treat.

I needed to make quick and simple cards for the teachers since there were only 3 days left of school.   Since I had to make them “quick”, I knew I couldn’t spend any time doing any detailed coloring or adding many layers.  I recently purchased a few stamp sets from the new company Altenew.  I thought I’d use the very cute Ori Kami set.  I drew inspiration from this card and this card.

untitled-6627

untitled-6635

 

Here’s how I made these cards.  I used patterned paper similar to designs found on origami paper.  The designs should be tight – with not a lot of empty space.  I stamped the elephant (becuase it’s just too adorable) and the crane on the selected paper with Versafine Onyx Black ink.  I then added clear EP and then heat set.  I stamped, in total, 16 images – 2 images for each card.

The next step was the most time consuming as I had to fussy cut each image.  To save some time, I cut them when I was on the school carpool line.  And my dear daughter (who LOVES origami) cut the rest for me.  Once that was done, I cut the second image for each card into several pieces.  I wanted to create a 3D effect of the image. For the crane, I cut the entire middle portion.  For the elephant, I cut the tail, the head and the front leg.  I then added these pieces to each respective whole image using foam tape.

I cut 8 CS panels (about 3.75 x 5.25″).  I then added color to each panel using various ink sprays.  I used inks that would complement each image.  Once the panels were dry, I added a “thank-you” sentiment.  In these cards, I used Mama Elephant’s Many Thanks  and Paper Smooches Word Up.  I then mounted my panel onto the card and then added my origami image onto the card panel.

Here’s one of my elephant cards.

untitled-6628

The following are my crane cards.

untitled-6634 untitled-6631

 

I was very pleased on how quick it was to assemble (well, after all that fussy cutting).  Just so simple and so elegant.

Until next time!

4 thoughts on “Thank You Notes

Leave a Reply

