Love & Laughter

Hello there!

 blog hop header graphic All this week Penny Black is celebrating and playing with Faber Castell Paper Crafter Crayons.  Have you tried these crayons? They are an intense and beautiful colors.  For my project, I used crayons shavings and used them as a coloring medium for my images.  Take a look!

untitled-9642

untitled-9639

SUPPLIES Dies Dainty (51-043); Stamps Special Wishes (30-229) Color Mediums Mix & Match Paper Crafter Crayons – Blue/Green & Red/Yellow (Faber Castell); Gelatos (Snow Cone; Cotton Candy); Black Onyx Versafine (Tsukineko) Other Bristol Paper (Strathmore); Arcrylic Paper (Strathmore); Clear EP (Ranger); Pencil; Old Paint Brush; Heat Gun; Glass Cutting Mat; Craft Knife (Fiskars)

Here is how I created the card:

As always, I created a A2 card.  I first cut 2 3.75 x 5″ panels from Arcrylic and Bristol Paper.  The Arcrylic Paper is the front of the panel and the Bristol is the back.  I then die cut the tulip die Dainty (51-043) from the Arcryrlic panel.  I put aside the positive die cut for another use.  Using the negative die cut, I aligned the Arcrylic Paper with the Bristol paper and lightly traced the tulip image onto the Bristol Paper.

I then worked on my color mediums.  I first concentrated on the color of the flowers. Using a craft knife I shave off pieces of the yellow crayon on a scrap piece of paper.  Once I thought I had enough I placed them on the traced area of the Bristol paper.  I then melted the crayon shavings using a heat gun.  I did this by holding the panel with my left hand and heating directly under the panel.  I first tried to do directly on the paper but everything blew all over the place!  Once you heat set it, it’s easier to move the color around from the front of the paper – which is what I did.  Once melted, I used a old brush to move the color around the tulips.  I then shaved orange and pink crayon shavings to add depth and interest to the stamp.  Once I was satisfied, I colored the stems and leaves using the same method in 2 shades of green.

When this was completed, I heat embossed a sentiment from the clear set Special Wishes (30-229).  I added a light color wash to the Arcrylic paper.  Once dried,  I then aligned the Arcrylic and Bristol paper together and adhered them with dimensional foam.  I added the panel to the card base and completed my card.

I hope you stick around all week for melting techniques.  It was a lot of fun and you’re sure to find me using them in my future project.

Take care!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

