Intricate Dies

I’ve been trying to steal time to create many cards for the Caring Hearts Card Drive.  Most of the Christmas cards that I’ll be making this year will all be going to this service for the elderly.   What better way to send happy thoughts during this wonderful season!

The 2 cards that I am showcasing today will be included in my packet.  All this week, the Penny Black Design Team have been sharing their creations using the intricate dies from the Winter Wonderland release.

It’s my turn today.  I kept my cards quite basic allowing the die cuts to shine.

untitled-6788-2

SUPPLIES Stamps: Season's Wishes (30-201) Dies: Gossamer (51-085) Color Mediums: Seedless Preserves, Chipped Sapphire, Stormy Sky, Salty Ocean Distress Ink (Ranger) Other White Embossing Powder (American Crafts); Glitter Paper (Michaels), Rhinestone Gem Embellishment

SUPPLIES Stamps: Season’s Wishes (30-201) Dies: Gossamer (51-085) Color Mediums: Seedless Preserves, Chipped Sapphire, Stormy Sky, Salty Ocean Distress Ink (Ranger) Other: White Embossing Powder (American Crafts); Glitter Paper (Michaels), Rhinestone Gem Embellishment

My first card uses the Gossamer (51-085) die.  I cut the die from glitter paper.  I also die cut it again on white CS and adhered behind the glitter paper to give it more dimension.  The background was created using various hues of purple and blue Distress Ink and then splattered with water.  The sentiment is from the clear set Season’s Wishes (30-201).  I also added a glittery rhinestone gem in the center of my die.

untitled-7272-3

SUPPLIES Stamps Joy Filled (30-257) Dies Twirl Tree (51-091) Color Medium:  Cherry Pie Dylusions Ink Spray (Ranger); Heirloom Gold Perfect Pearls Ink Spray (Ranger); Onyx Black Versafine Ink (Tsukineko) Other: Clear Embossing Power (Ranger); Patterned Paper (7 Gypsies); Arcrylic Paper (Strathmore)

SUPPLIES Stamps Joy Filled (30-257) Dies Twirl Tree (51-091) Color Medium: Cherry Pie Dylusions Ink Spray (Ranger); Heirloom Gold Perfect Pearls Ink Spray (Ranger); Onyx Black Versafine Ink (Tsukineko) Other: Clear Embossing Power (Ranger); Patterned Paper (7 Gypsies); Arcrylic Paper (Strathmore); Wink of Stella Clear Pen (Zig)

My second card uses the Twirl Tree (51-091) die.  I cut it from white CS and then sprayed heavily with a red ink spray and then Perfect Pearls ink spray.  I didn’t think it was sparkly enough and then colored directly on the die with a Wink of Stella clear pen.  I cut a rectangle on a arcrylic paper panel.  I love the texture of arcrylic paper and often use it to give the card dimension.  I distressed the edges.  I nestled the die cut into the window behind patterend paper.  The sentiment is from the Joy Filled (30-257) clear set.

For more information on my cards, visit the Penny Black blog.

Until next time!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

