Have a Norse Day

Hi there!

My daughter loves Norse (and Greek) mythology.  And what better way to celebrate her birthday by creating a card using Birdie Brown’s Viking.  What perfect timing!

 

SUPPLIES Stamps: BB Viking (MFT); Birthday Stamp Set (Ali Edwards) Dies: Rectangle Frames (MFT) Color: Alcohol Inks (Ranger); Dual Brush Pens (Tombow): Black Licorice Hybrid (MFT); Black Onyx Versafine (Tsukineko) Other: Wooden Star Embelisshments (Studio Calico); Arcrylic Paper (Strathmore); Clear EP (Ranger); Glossy Paper (Ranger)

I first create the background using some old glossy paper by Ranger.  Thought I’d get on the alcohol background coloring bandwagon and pulled out my colored bottles that have been left untouched for a number of years.  I just added the colored alcohol (blues) on the paper and dropped blending solution directly on the paper.  I trimmed the glossy paper and then created a frame using Arcrylic paper.  I love the subtle texture of Arcyrlic paper and thought it would be a nice contrast to the smooth glossy and card base.

I watercolored the Viking image using Tombow Dual Brush Pens.  The image was fussy cut and then adhered to the frame.  I attached the completed panel to my white card base.  The sentiment from a Ali Edwards Birthday stamp set was stamped with Versafine Black Onyx and clear embssed.  Finally, I added wooden star embellishments to complete the look.

My daughter loved it.  She’s into puns and she loved the inside Viking sentiment which was “Have a Norse Day”.

 

Leave a comment