Rejoice!

Greetings!

I hope holiday preparations are going your way.

This is my latest card I would like to share.

untitled-0754-2

SUPPLIES Stamps: We Three Kings (51-060) Dies: Exultations (51-060) Color Mediums: Koi Watercolor Field Sketch Set (Sakura); Peeled Paint; Mowed Lawn Distress Ink (Ranger); Pearlescent Watercolor Paint Set (Yasutomo) Other: Queens Gold Embossing Powder (Ranger); Versmark (Tsukineko); Gold Pearl Pen (Viva)

SUPPLIES Stamps: We Three Kings (40-347) Dies: Exultations (51-060) Color Mediums: Koi Watercolor Field Sketch Set (Sakura); Peeled Paint; Mowed Lawn Distress Ink (Ranger); Pearlescent Watercolor Paint Set (Yasutomo) Other: Queens Gold Embossing Powder (Ranger); Versmark (Tsukineko); Gold Pearl Pen (Viva)

I wanted to try a technique that I saw on my fellow DT member, Alexandra – watercolor on vellum paper.  You can view her creation here.  I loved the look that I wanted to use it in my next card.

I thought the perfect image to use with this technique was We Three Kings (40-347).   On a piece of vellum paper, I heat embossed the image with gold embossing powder.  Using my Koi Watercolor Field Sketch Set as well as my Pearlescent Paint Set, I carefully painted the image with regal colors.

Once dry, I worked on the rest of the card.  I trimmed the vellum and adhered it to a matching size kraft card panel.  The one thing about this technique was the vellum warped.  I tried to flatten the vellum as much as I could and used clear tape on all sides of the paper.  To be honest, it still looked warped, but I really liked the way it turned out, that I went forward with my card creation.

I wanted my image to stand out and used matched green cardstock to frame the image.  I also added strips of gold foil paper to act as a border between the vellum and the green CS.  The completed panel was adhered to a matching red cardbase.  To finish, I used “Rejoice” die from the set Exultations (51-060) cut from gold foil paper.  I die cut this twice and adhered together.  I placed the cut at the bottom right side of my panel.  I didn’t want to fuss with the dot from the “i” and decided to used a gold pearl pen instead.

Even with all that vellum warpness, I am very pleased how the card turned out.

1 thought on “Rejoice!

Leave a comment